Ohio's Learning Standards

Learning in Ohio

Ohio's Learning Standards explain the knowledge and skills students are learning in pre-kindergarten through grade 12. The State Board of Education has adopted learning standards in mathematics, English language arts, science, social studies, world languages, fine arts, technology, physical education and financial literacy. Periodically, the Ohio Department of Education engages in a process for updating standards. 

For more information about Ohio's Learning Standards from the Ohio Department of Education, click on the subjects below.

English Language Arts                  Financial Literacy                     Fine Arts

Health Education                           Mathematics                            Physical Education

Science                                            Social Studies                          Technology

World Languages                          Early Learning                          English Learners

While the State Board of Education provides the learning standards, CEVS is responsible for choosing their own curricula, textbooks, and other materials to plan instruction that will enable our students to gain the knowledge and skills outlined in Ohio's Learning Standards. However, model curricula and other related tools are available to give guidance to educators as they teach the standards and create assessments aligned to the standards.  State law does not mandate that school districts use these guides. However, doing so provides educators with in-depth descriptions explaining what the standards mean, which will help them develop local curricula and instructional plans. 

To find the model curricula and other resources, select the area of interest from the Learning in Ohio page from the Ohio Department of Education. 

There are a variety of assessments educators use to help monitor how their students are progressing through the standards. Ohio’s State Tests measure how students statewide are developing the knowledge and skills described in Ohio’s Learning Standards. The test results also help measure each public school’s performance, which is reflected on its annual report card.  Belows outlines which tests are given at the various grade levels.


  English Language Arts  Mathematics Science
Grade 3                             ✓                ✓   
Grade 4                             ✓                ✓   
Grade 5                             ✓                ✓           ✓ 
Grade 6                             ✓                ✓   
Grade 7                             ✓                ✓   
Grade 8                             ✓                ✓           ✓ 



Classes of 2018 and beyond – End-of-course tests in English Language Arts I and II, Algebra I, Geometry (or Integrated Mathematics I and II), Biology, American History and American Government. 

More information about these tests is here